Orkney announce team for Gotland 2017

A total of 66 athletes will depart Orkney’s shores for this summer’s Island Games as the Orkney Island Games Association (OIGA) confirmed their list of medal hopefuls.

Notably, previous Games medal winners Bobby Oag and Thomas Fay are welcomed back into the fold, with the pair, along with Alison Leitch, Torquil Clyde and Paul Kerr, forming a strong-looking triathlon line up.
It should be noted, that Paul Kerr, Thomas Fay and Torquil Clyde — as well as competing in the triathlon — are also competing in additional events, with Kerr and Fay in athletics and Clyde in cycling.

While OIGA chair Robbie Fraser had several medal hopes, he did say it was akin to “stepping into the unknown”. He reemphasised how difficult it is to win medals at the 3,000-athlete strong Games.
“That’s exactly what the Island Games are like, you never know who is going to turn up.

Many times there are Commonwealth Games athletes competing, which raises the standard to a different level.
“Nowadays making an athletics or swimming final is a terrific achievement and Orkney records have to be broken to get there.”

He also welcomed back Helen Corsie back to the Island Games scene, with the former shot putt gold medal winner now competing in archery. He added that it was great that the footballers were making their first appearance at a Games since Shetland in 2005.

  • Archery: Graham Brough, Ian Brough, Helen Corsie, Anna Laird, Michael Leslie, James Middlemas, Robert Reid and Stewart Stanger.
  • Athletics: Molly Cant, Jamie Clouston, Amy Davis, Balfour Hay, Thomas Fay, Paul Kerr, Aimee Leask, Mia MacIver, Erin Montgomery, Andrew Rendall, Sam Rendall, Tim Ross, Taylah Spence, Tegan Spence and Anna Tait.
  • Badminton: Liam Delday, Ruth Flett, Jane Hill, Joanne Pottinger, Andrew Reid, Matthew Reid and Emma Work.
  • Cycling: Keith Chalmers, Olga Hamilton, Torquil Clyde and Tom Lynch.
  • Football: Neil Aim, Erik Bews, Aiden Drever, Hamish Flett, Jamie Flett, Craig Gillon, Chris Hellewell, Steven Hellewell, Graeme Horne, Daniel Hourston, Sam Hunter, Wayne Kirkness, Robbie Macvie, Cameron McConnachie, Trevor McConnachie, Ryan McFerran, Graham Poke, Connan Rendall, Thorfinn Stout and Edgar Thomson.
  • Golf: Hamish Gorn, Ewan Rendall, Michael Schinkel and Scott Walls.
  • Shooting: Donald Sinclair and Bobby Spence.
  • Swimming: Angus Blance, Molly Blance, Mia McAllister and Kerris Sinclair.
  • Triathlon: Alison Leitch, Bobby Oag, Thomas Fay, Torquil Clyde and Paul Kerr.

The overall team manager is Calvin Cooper

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.